The Planner Pad

27 Jan

While working on setting up my Filofax Finsbury to be my desk planner, which I’ll share in my next Filofax post,  I realized that I needed a planner to carry in my purse (my Finsbury was too heavy for my shoulders). I decided to use the Seasons planner by Planner Pad.

planner pad 017

The Seasons planner has a spiral binding and hard laminated front and back covers.

planner pad 018

Here is the Seasons planner next to the black Personal size planner that I used last year. Planner Pad also sells a light green Personal size.

Planner Pad planners are available in spiral and loose leaf format and in four different sizes: Professional 8×14, Executive 8.5×11, Personal 6.5×8.5 and Compact (Seasons) 5.5×8.5. This year they also have the Seasons style in the Personal size.

The Planner Pad planners have a unique planning system. Briefly, in the top section you list your weekly tasks which are divided into categories.

planner pad 027

Here is a picture of the weekly planning page in the Seasons planner. In the middle section, you write what you will do that day, choosing from the tasks at the top. The bottom section is where you assign each task a time slot.

planner pad 002

Here is a picture of one of my filled in weekly pages. I color-coded each day so I could see at a glance what day I was on. You could also assign each category a color.

planner pad 003planner pad 008

You can  purchase accessories for your Planner Pad such as stick-on front and back pockets and monthly dividers.

planner pad 011

Planner Pad also sells a variety of different leather tote bags. I love planner-purse combinations. I bought this one in green. It also comes in black and red. It is a very soft bag. The tote is a cross-body with an adjustable strap. It has two Velcro pockets in the front. I kept my phone, tissues and a change purse in there.

planner pad 012

Behind the two pockets is a deep pocket. I put the campus newspaper in there. You could also put a paperback book inside.

planner pad 013

Next, there is a very deep zipper section. This is where I put my wallet, small make-up case, pencil case. etc. This section is very roomy.

planner pad 014

The last zipper compartment holds the Personal size Planner Pad. It also has card slots and two pen holders (very tight).

planner pad 015

The Seasons planner also fits!!

I like the Planner Pads unique planning system. When “stuff” seems to be floating around in my head, I turn to my planner pad to organize me. Have any of you ever used the Planner Pad? Please share your experiences!

Blessings,

Carolyn

10 Responses to “The Planner Pad”

  1. Connie July 4, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

    Thanks for the detailed review and pictures. This gave me the information I needed to decide what to purchase.

    • Carolyn July 4, 2013 at 6:46 pm #

      Hi Connie,
      Thank you so much! Glad the review was helpful.
      Carolyn

  2. Coach Estelle September 5, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

    Hi Carolyn- I wish I would have seen this before I ordered! I ordered 2 discounted 2013 versions to see which size and style I would like – their website doesn’t have very good images to go by.

    I ordered the executive in black and the personal size seasons – but now seeing the seasons version I probably would have ordered the black in the personal because I like to decorate my own pages and alot of the space is taken up with the design. But – they do have a 6month money back guarantee so I am thinking I will try them out and if I don’t like them I can return them. Thanks for your post!!

    • Carolyn September 5, 2013 at 11:30 pm #

      Hi Coach Estelle,
      Thank you! I’m so glad that you liked the post and that it was helpful.
      Carolyn

      • Coach Estelle September 6, 2013 at 4:11 am #

        Is the seasons planner in the picture the personal or compact?

      • Coach Estelle September 6, 2013 at 4:14 am #

        Hi Carolyn – I re-read the post and it looks like the seasons is in the compact 5-1/2 x 8-1/2

      • Carolyn September 6, 2013 at 11:33 pm #

        Hi Coach Estelle,
        Yes! You’re right I have the Seasons Compact. It’s just a little smaller than the Personal size. I think the Personal size is also easy to carry.
        Carolyn

  3. http://www.shiningforhisglory.blogspot.com September 7, 2013 at 2:02 am #

    I loved this post. I just started using the plannerpad personal size and absolutely adore how it works with the way I think. Your post played a big role in me choosing this particular planner. I love it! Thank you;)

    • Carolyn September 7, 2013 at 9:41 pm #

      Thank you soo much! I’m so very glad when one of my post helps someone!!
      Carolyn

  4. LeeAnn Webster August 21, 2014 at 11:19 pm #

    I use the personal size in with the green print, spiral bound. I’ve used these planners since they actually were a “pad” way back in the late nineties.
    Here are my opinions:
    Black spiral executive size–great if you delegate stuff a lot so that you need lots of space to keep track of an employee (or kids). The top can have each person you delegate projects to and the project list.
    Black ring binder–more customizable, but I just don’t like ring binders, too bulky.
    Black spiral personal size–great for students or individuals. almost perfect. The stick in pockets give me a place to put things like dry cleaning tickets.
    Green spiral personal–practically perfect. I like it that my pencil or pen is the thing on the page that “pops” and that the actual dates are in black. LOVE the notes section at the beginning of each month. I use it to list all the slop-over type projects or seasonal things that I need to fit in the next month. This is the version that I’ve stuck with for a couple of years. I also really like the stick on tabs for each month. It’s thin enough and the right size to slip into a thin pocket in my bag so I don’t feel burdened with it to carry it everywhere. It fits perfectly in a “tablet” pocket in my tote bag also.
    My planner, an erasable black pen (Pilot Frixion Retractable erasable gel ink), a couple of erasable twist up mechanical colored pencils (Red, Blue) (crayola makes great ones), and my Titanium Papermate mechanical pencil with the big twist up eraser are my go to tools. I’ve tried Filo Fax and Franklin planners . . . too much bulk and too much page flipping for me.

Leave a comment